Gemini Syndrome “3rd Degree – The Raising” Album Review

This album, and the rest of the trilogy is one of the most important offerings for our times. Especially in consideration of everything we’ve gone through the past few years.

First though, The Particulars:

“3rd Degree – The Raising” is the final album in the trilogy from Gemini Syndrome and will release on October 15th through Century Media (The first album was 2013’s Lux, and the second was 2016’s Memento Mori (which hit #1 on Billboard Heatseakers Album Chart and spawned five singles). You can pre-order “3rd Degree – The Raising” now. You absolutely need to listen to this one and let me know your thoughts.

In the meantime, here’s mine…

“Reintegration” is the first track. The exceptional sonics show up immediately with a pounding intro that falls away into reflective vocals. The effects are tastefully done, and the vocals go from smooth to furious seamlessly. It’s ever more evident that these guys know who they are, and deliver their knowingness in a huge, multi-layered sound that will fill the largest festivals, yet this is just the start of the excursion.

“IDK” gets the goose bumps raising with the drums and EDM intro. Aaron offers a new vocal quality, he is genuinely masterful in whatever voice he’s expressing (smooth, enraged, growling, etc…). The drums cut through stunningly, without dominating the mix, while a melodic presence includes a handful of hardcore demonstrating a unique mix. And that space!!! Space can be a most powerful element in the arrangement and these guys know how to take full advantage.

The third track, “Die With Me” released as a single and you can currently hear it in rotation on Octane (On Sirius). The drums are groovy, and the vocals are beckoning. What really stands out to me is how low the guitars are tuned, but how accessible the songs are at the same time. That takes finesse that can’t be pulled off as easily as these guys accomplish. The melody is stickier than Gorilla glue and there are some fresh effects. The quick guitar solo is icing on the cake! You can check out the video to this one at the end of the review.

“Baptized In Fire” feels like I’m in a secluded and ancient ritual, it oozes reverence – if you’re allowed to use that word in a rock review – some tasty djent offers just a pinch of a lighter touch. This one is ambient and the ½ steps further add intensity…., seriously, if you aren’t a Synner yet, you will be by the end of this song.

After “Baptized In Fire” I’m feeling like Tracy in Wonderland, and it’s going to continue getting curiouser and curiouser. Allow me to elucidate…. “Children Of The Sun” adds some extra groove and a sprinkling of southern, yet modern, sludge. There is a static-y effect that follows the vocals, which are all over the place (in the best of ways). I’m pulled further down the rabbit hole, into a strongly triumphant vibe that the music evokes. I don’t want to wake up.

“Abandoned”. This song is So. Powerful. Vulnerable. Raw. Exquisite. Unsettling. Profound. I can’t say anything else with words. Experience it yourself (video below). It will change you.

The seventh track, and kudos if you’re still traveling with me, is “Broken Reflection”. The vocals are mesmerizing set amid all the ear candy. Everything you could ever want in a song is here, without stepping on toes. Tremendous songwriting at its finest – very seasoned and assured.

“Sum Quod Eris” OH – Bass, Baby, Bass!!! Very Cool! This interlude is another deepening into the mysterious darkness of this evocative journey.

“Best Of Me” has a quiet, rainy-day vibe, that is always one of my favorites. The great melody is thoughtful and leaning toward melancholy, yet in an accepting way if that makes any sense. It’s beautiful and offers a respite, while also acknowledging the shadows.

After “Best of Me”, “Absolution” comes in stronger, yet falls back into a slower, thoughtful vibe. The chorus is huge and the middle 8 is a hook into a more aggressive maturity that goes soul deep. The maturity of the songwriting is mind blowing.

The piano tones in “Hold The Line” are exquisite and the splash of reverb is genius. This song leads me out of wonderland to the Mavroneri waterfalls. This song is enthralling and there are tears running down my face. You are going to feel ALL the feels. Anyone who has even the smallest heart will be moved with this one.

“Where We Started From” ushers into something brand new – I love it! The song is very full with brand new layers. There are some super bendy cool bendy guitars and an ominously buzzy backing effect. It rallies the part of you that’s ready to soldier on. F*&% the last few crazy years. They’ve only made us stronger and it’s time to face life anew. This song might be my new anthem.

The final track “Fiat Lux”, I leave for you to experience without me input.

Overall, this album will change you. The trilogy is complete – or is it just now ready to begin again?

Gemini Syndrome Is:

  • Aaron Nordstrom (vocals, keyboards)
  • Brian Steele Medina (drums, programming)
  • Alessandro “AP” Paveri (bass)
  • Meegs Rascón (guitar)
  • Nicholas Paul Arnold (touring guitar)


Abandoned Video:

Die With Me Video:

A few thoughts from Gemini Syndrome:

Aaron Nordstrom (vocalist) shares, “The album is about death and rebirth. Finding your true self and fostering its growth so as to help build the world better than we inherited it. In the process of this record I made some major life choices. Mainly to stop killing myself slowly with alcohol. Two years without a drink, and a couple near death experiences later, I think I have ample experience to talk about a subject as elusive as death.”

Brian Steele Medina (drummer) adds, “The twist to the 3rd and “final” degree, is that it’s not the end at all. Rather, it’s a rebirth contingent upon our growth and lessons learned from the suffering of our past mistakes. A spiritual growth that can only be attained through baptism by fire. A metaphorical, yet very real resurrection — THE RAISING.”

Aaron adds, “Our hope is that through sharing our experiences, lessons learned, and battles overcome, that we can help others to examine their own consciousness. Their role in the world in its almost infinite capacity, and to help remind each other that we are ALL in this together. We are a family, and when we are United in our commonality, we can achieve things worthy of the attention of the GODS. If you want to change the world, quietly go to work on yourself.”

2 thoughts on “Gemini Syndrome “3rd Degree – The Raising” Album Review

  • October 5, 2021 at 5:13 am

    I love this review! ❤️ I’ve been waiting for this album for 5 years now. This review has just gotten me all the more excited for it. Been a synner since 2014. Thank you for this 🙏🏻. Hey, where do I sign up to hear albums before they release? 😅

    • October 5, 2021 at 8:32 am

      Hey Fellow Synner! We’ve all been excited about this upcoming album; you are going to love it! We are able to review albums before they release as a part of the media. If you are a writer and know music enough to review it, hit us up, maybe we could use you.


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: