San Diego quintet The Undertaking! signed to Solid State Records

Rock Lines Magazine Looking for music that just makes you jump up and slam into your friends!!!!!!Then I recommend checking out The Undertaking!!!!!!!

San Diego quintet The Undertaking! signed to Solid State Records last year and are now gearing up to release its label debut, Funeral Psalms, out April 30th. The band shared the gloriously frantic song “No Friends,” crackling with dirty and dizzying, in-your-face energy reminiscent of Glassjaw, Every Time I Die, Refused, and early Maylene & The Sons of the Disaster. Watch + listen to the video for “No Friends” here.


The band commented, “‘No Friends’ is a brash reflection on how difficult it is to be a good friend. What starts out as an accusation attacking others quickly digresses into the realization that we so often push people away and create our own walls of isolation.”


  • The band previously released the track “Oh Negative,” also off the forthcoming release.

  • Funeral Psalms was produced by The Used’s Joey Bradford and also features an appearance from Cove Reber (Saosin / Dead American).

  • The album is all grit and punch, with lyrics that dig deep and music that swings for the fences.

  • Themes of anxiety and depression are wrapped in a record laced with pop and ’90s punk, capitalizing on the freedom to vocalize lament while having a good time.

  • The Undertaking! is Brent Jasperse [Drums], Keith Butsko [Guitar], Austin Visser [Vocals], James Moyer [Bass] and Johnny Mercuri [Guitars, Vocals].

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: